2 Queen West
In Association With: ERA Architects
Client: Cadillac Fairview Corporation
Size: 63,200 sq.ft. (5,781 sq.m.)
Zeidler, in association with heritage specialists ERA Architects, has designed an extensive restoration of the existing four-storey Jamieson building, constructed/ built in 1895 on the northwest corner of Queen and Yonge Streets. A three-storey glass addition and 7,100 sq.ft. green roof is also proposed, creating a stunning seven-storey structure.
The building’s heritage façade, currently half concealed by aluminum panels from a partial restoration in the 1980s, will be fully restored to its original design. The ground and second levels will continue to provide 12,290 sq.ft. of retail space, while the third to sixth floors will be used as offices. The top level, which steps-back slightly to give prominence to the heritage facade over the new office addition above, is proposed as a 7,756 sq.ft. restaurant space.
Zeidler provided full architectural services for the project, including successful achievement of municipal and heritage approvals, anticipated by January 2017.